MINUTES BOWLS ACT ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING CHIFLEY COMMUNITY MEETING ROOM 26 JUNE 2018 - 6.00PM

Present:

As per Registration Sheet:

Delegates: K Dowrick, R Rawson, H Merritt, C McMurray, M Davies, S Willis, M Kavas, W Turner, L Signor, G Harris-Mayes, T McInnes, E Tse, D Mitchell, G Rice, J Hawkins.
Board Members: B Dowrick, B Freebody, M Bacchetto, R McInnes, N Mullins, R Grylls.
Observers: R Watt, G Goodman, H Goodman, D Inglis, D Hill (QRSL), W Kuhn, R Arkinstall.
Executive Officer, Bowls ACT: K Lyttle

Apologies:

H Leonard CBC & Board), M White (QRSLM), R Thoms (Gbn)

Welcome by President B Dowrick:

The President welcomed attendees and noted that although the AGM was being held after the date required under the Legislation, approval had been sought and received by the RGO to do so.

Minutes of 2016 Annual General Meeting held 21 September 2016 (and distributed prior to the meeting) were confirmed as a true and accurate record on the motion of K Dowrick, seconded R Rawson. Carried.

Business arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising.

Presidents Report

The President spoke to her report. Highlights were:

- Noted the change to the Bowls ACT Financial year repeated request for Clubs to change theirs to align.
- Concern over continuing decline in registered members.
- Acknowledged and welcomed Goulburn Railway MBC as a continuing member.
- Noted with sadness, the circumstance and closure of the City Bowling Club.
- Noted the new logo to align with BA and other STAs.
- Noted revised COP.
- Acknowledged sponsorship from WR Engineering and support from Sport and Rec ACT for recurrent grant. Also thanked Canberra City for their donation of funds to support the inaugural Open Singles event.
- Noted need to support the President's Meetings.

• Thanked Staff (Kate Lyttle, Suzanne Bain-Donohue and Jenny Clout), RBM James Berriman, fellow board members, the Bowls Australia Board, committees and volunteers.

Receipt of the Audited Statement of Accounts:

Treasurers Report

The Treasurer spoke about the Audited accounts noting that although they were not signed off, they would be once a couple of small, non-material corrections were made. He noted that there had been a \$70,000 loss recorded for the 18 months. This was significantly attributable to the write off of Warehouse stock. It was also explained that the result was uncharacteristic as it included two parts of the year where expenditure was greater, but only one six month period where income is traditionally received (ie the Grant and affiliation fees).

Acceptance of the Financial Statements was made after being moved by R Grylls, and seconded by T McInnes.

Appointments Auditor

After discussion, it was moved R Grylls seconded M Kavas that John Beard of Beard Auditors be appointed the Association Auditor for the coming year. Carried.

Special Guest Speaker – David Inglis, RBM, Bowls Australia.

David spoke about the RBM role (noting that James Berriman has recently resigned, and was now working for RBNSW.) He spoke about what he could do to assist clubs. Specifically he mentioned the need to encourage shorter versions of the game (such as Jack Attack) and the importance of making clubs welcoming places for new and existing bowlers. He spoke about the BPL Cup.

Concern was raised from the floor about the lack of communication of some matters regarding the RBM program and the BPL Cup.

Election of Directors:

The EO reported that there had been an equal number of nominations for the Board as there were vacancies, negating the need for an election. The President then announced the new Board:

Margaret Bacchetto (continuing) Roger Grylls (continuing) Gillian Harris-Mayes (new) David Hill (new) Wally Kuhn (new) Ray McInnes (continuing) Noel Mullins (continuing)

It was noted that the new President and Deputy President would be elected from within the Board, by the Board, immediately following the AGM.

The following appointments to Committees were confirmed:

Match Committee	Coaching	Umpires
Barry Freebody	Ken Dowrick (Chair)	Bill Rush (Chair)
Charles Smith	Patricia McKenna	Garry Goodman
	Patrick Robertson	Jenny Van Vucht
	Denise Rutherford	Pam Cass
	John Birch	Arthur Ellem
	Garry Goodman	Gillian Harris-Mayes
High Performance		Greens Committee
Men's Selectors: Jeff Bradley (Chair), Dave Cave, David Pruss		Ray McInnes (Chair)
Women's Selectors: Jenny Clout (Chair), Mina Bannerman,		Peter Watts
Gayle Young		Terry Doyle
Men's Coach: Ken Dowrick		
Women's Coach: Hilary Merritt		
High Performance Coach: Bev Dowrick		

Vote of Thanks to Retiring Board Members

Retiring Board Members Bev Dowrick (President), Barry Freebody (Dep President) and Heather Leonard were presented with gifts in recognition of their much appreciated contribution to Bowls ACT. T. McInnes moved a vote of thanks on behalf of the Members. R. McInnes also moved a vote of thanks to Bev for her work with the Past Presidents association, and to her husband, Ken, for supporting her workload that no doubt had impinged on their family life.

Meeting Closed.

26 June 2018