QRSLM Triples Triumph!

by admin on September 6, 2016

The men from QRSLM (Adam Jeffery, Joel McInnes and Nathan Savino) have defeated Tuggeranong (Robert Craven, Robert Kyle and Terry Morrison) 22-20 in a nailing biting final that went to a tie-breaking end.  Tuggeranong got off to a reasonable lead and at 10 ends were comfortably in front.  From the 11th end, however, Adam Jeffery found his form and closed the gap steadily until it was 20 all after 25 ends.  Tuggeranong won the toss to start the tiebreaker , leaving the last bowl to Jeffery who made no mistake to seal the result.  The teams performed in front of a small crowd, grateful that the rain stayed away.
QRSL defeated the Weston Creek team of Whybrow, Penny and Waugh in the semi-final whereas Tuggeranong had to knock out last years winners from Canberra Howard, Brookman and McDonald.
Full results (some scores tbc) here
Thanks must go to Tuggeranong for their hospitality over the course of the event, the Greenkeepers who managed to produce a playable green after the overnight downpour, and to the umpires for all sessions.