Remembrance Day Test Series – Teams Named

by Bowls ACT on November 2, 2023

Bowls ACT take on the best of the Defence Force in the return of this representative contest at Queanbeyan RSL Memorial Bowling Club

Bowls ACT are pleased to announce the return of the ADF Bowls v ACT test series to be played at Queanbeyan RSL Memorial Bowling Club on the weekend of November 11 & 12 with the sqauds now announced. The ADF Bowls team has plenty of familiar faces, headed up by local Phil Black (Weston Creek) and current NSW Reserve Singles Champion and AO Megabowl Winner Kate Carriage, rewatch the Megabowl final below!

Spectators are encouraged to get along to the club to watch some great bowls played over the two days with the first test scheduled to take place following the Remembrance Day service on Saturday morning, the second test commencing Saturday at 4:30pm and the third and final test on Sunday morning at 9:30am. The sides are open gender, age and all-abilities with a diverse range of players selected representing both the ADF and ACT.

The ACT side will shift from game to game as the squad of players are given an opportunity alongside some established names including Emerging Jackaroo Chloe Morrison, Invitational Singles Champion Garry Charker and Para Pairs Gold Medalist Matt Barrie.

Defence Force

Scott McNally (Navy – Vic)Phil Black (NAVY – ACT)Gerry Harkins (RAAF – NSW)
Scott Christie (Navy – WA)Steve Adams (NAVY – NSW)Kate Carriage (NAVY – NSW)
Will Sharkey (Navy – NSW)Anita Jenkins (NAVY – VIC)Aleck McCloskey (ARMY – QLD)
Karen Lane (RAAF – NT)Kaitlin Shaw (NAVY – NSW)Murray Lott (ARMY – NSW)

Bowls ACT

Brad Hills (Crookwell)Cherrie Climas (Queanbeyan RSL)Nathan Savino (Canberra North)
David Pruss (Vikings)Harvey McAlister (Queanbeyan)Logan O’Shaughnessy (Canberra)
Matt Barrie (Belconnen)Liam Walsh (Queanbeyan RSL)Joel Dowsett (Canberra)
Adam Wallace (Yass)Chloe Morrison (Vikings)Jamie Smith (Canberra)
Elaine Tse (Weston Creek)Michael McQueen (Weston Creek)Ruth Moore (Queanbeyan RSL)
Garry Charker (Canberra)Deb Schoemaker (Queanbeyan RSL)Telara Edwards (Queanbeyan RSL)